Shopping: Homemade Name Stamp, Insadong

Insadong, one of Seoul’s most favorite tourist attraction where you can experience authentic and traditional Korean culture. The streets are filled with different shops selling traditional gift items, like keychains, pottery, clothing, etc. Insadong is known for its shopping, specifically souvenir shopping. And one unique souvenir that you can get here is homemade name stamps! Name stamps are traditionally used to sign important documents, like a personal signature in the West. Koreans still use name stamps (도장) today but Insadong offers services for foreigners to have their own homemade name stamps as well!

You can get a name stamp with a name, symbols like hearts, or whatever you want written (as long as it fits on the square stamp). They’re customizable and prices vary depending on the stamp material, if you want the sides engraved, etc. Shops have English forms so it’s easy to order! Because they are handmade, they do take some time but that’s totally OK. Just hand in your order, explore the area, do some more souvenir shopping, and return by the time the shopkeeper told you and it’s ready!


I’ve been wanting to get them for me and my siblings for a while and decided what the hey, let’s finally get them. The first photo is of the stamps I got and they’re so nice! One stamp was around ₩55,000 (~$50 USD) because of the material and I also got the sides engraved. A little pricey for me but I’m totally satisfied and don’t regret spending the money at all~

I chose dandelions for my sister because they’re her favorite flower (even though it’s a weed), a tree with a blue bird for my brother because he loves the color blue and birds, and plum blossoms for myself because they were the symbol of the Korean Empire. I originally wanted a tiger but didn’t like any of the designs so I ended up choosing a design related to Korean history, as the true Korean Studies major I am~

You might not ever use the stamps but they’re unique and customizable souvenirs you can get for yourself or your friends and family!


#visitkorea #imagineyourkorea #hellokorea #KTONY #insadong #namestamp

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started